Timeline of Modern Iran

bkyser on Mar 2nd 2012

Here is a chronological timeline of Modern Iran, beginning in 1921 with the end of the Qajar Dynasty. It includes important dates in Iran’s history up until 2009. Some of the important dates that are included are the changing of the name of Persia to Iran in 1935, the coup of Mohammed Mossadeq in 1953, and the death of Ayatollah Khomeini in 1989. The timeline goes all of the way up until Ahmadinejad’s second election victory in 2009.

PBS, “Key Events in Iran Since 1921,” PBS News, February 11, 2010, http://www.pbs.org/newshour/indepth_coverage/middle_east/iran/timeline.html (accessed March 2, 2012).

Filed in Miscellaneous | Comments Off on Timeline of Modern Iran